2001 Profile of the division of Charlton

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Matthew Charlton (1866–1948), Member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly (1903–1910), Member of House of Representatives (1910–1928) and Leader of the Australian Labor Party (1922–1928).

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 567 sq km from Cardiff, Warners Bay, Wallsend and Garden Suburb in the east, south to Wyee and north to Wallsend.

The main suburbs include Cardiff, Edgeworth, and Wallsend in the Newcastle area and Boolaroo, Speers Point, Toronto, Wangi Wangi, Warners Bay, Morisset and Wyee in the Lake Macquarie area.

Products/Industries of the area:

Light and heavy engineering, timber, textiles, some dairy farms and poultry farming, tourism, coal-mining, electricity, sulphide production and retailing.

First Proclaimed



  • Kelly Hoare (ALP) 1998–
  • B Brown (ALP) 1984–98

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 86 091

Informal Vote: 3.03%

Turnout: 96.20%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 62.97%
  • LP: 37.03%

Enrolment: 87 830

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.87%
  • Preamble Question 0.96%


  • Republic Question 96.51%
  • Preamble Question 96.52%

Enrolment: 83 459

Informal Vote: 4.57%

Turnout: 95.63%

Seat Status: Fairly Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 56.66%
  • LP: 43.34%