Profile of the electoral division of Boothby (SA)

Updated: 19 November 2019
South Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
20 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1903 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Boothby (2018) [PDF 779KB]
Map of the Division of Boothby (2018) [PDF 1.84MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of William Robinson Boothby CMG, 1829–1903. Boothby introduced many electoral innovations in South Australia and from 1856 to 1903 superintended every State parliamentary election and drafted every Electoral Act in South Austalia. Boothby was State Returning Officer for the first House of Representatives election in South Australia in 1901 and, prior to his death, completed the 1903 redistribution of federal electoral divisions in South Australia.
115 sq km
Location description

The Division of Boothby consists of:

  • City of Holdfast Bay,
  • part of the City of Marion,
  • part of the City of Mitcham, and
  • part of the City of Unley
Demographic Rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.