Profile of the electoral division of Wright (Qld)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
2010 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Wright (2018) [PDF 1.17MB]
Map of the Division of Wright (2017) [PDF 3.40MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Judith Wright, 1915–2000, in recognition of her service and contributions to Australia as a poet, author and social and environmental activist. Ms Wright was founding president of the Wildlife Preservation Society of Queensland and a founding member of the Aboriginal Treaty Committee.
7,577 sq km
Location description

The Division of Wright consists of:

  • Lockyer Valley Regional Council,
  • part of the Gold Coast City Council,
  • part of the Ipswich City Council,
  • part of the Logan City Council,
  • part of the Scenic Rim Regional Council, and
  • part of the Southern Downs Regional Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Boutique tourism and a wide range of primary production activities.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Buchholz, S (LNQ) 2010–
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Back to top