2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Bass (Tas)

Updated: 4 September 2013
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Map of Division:
A4 map of the Division of Bass (2009) [PDF 120KB]
Map of the Division of Bass (2009) [PDF 11.6MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after Dr George Bass (1771–1803), a naval surgeon, early settler and explorer. Bass Strait is also named after him.
Area and Location Description:
Bass covers an area of approximately 7 378 sq km from Launceston in the south to Flinders Island in the north. The City of Launceston and its suburbs, and the towns of Bell Bay, Bridport, George Town, Hadspen, Lilydale, Legana (part), Ringarooma and Scottsdale, as well as Cape Barren Island, Clarke Island & Flinders Island are in this division.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Aluminium and ferrous metal smelting, brewery, cattle (dairy and beef) farming, manufacturing, mining, ports and shipping, ship building, timber, tourism, fishing, wineries and wool.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
Lyons, G (ALP) 2010–
Campbell, J (ALP) 2007–2010
Ferguson, M (LP) 2004–2007
O'Byrne, M (ALP) 1998–2004
Smith, W L (LP) 1996–1998
Smith, S J (ALP) 1993–1996
Smith, W L (LP) 1984–1993
Newman, K E (LP) 1975–1984
Barnard, L H (ALP) 1954–1975
Kekwick, B H (LP) 1949–1954
Barnard, H C (ALP) 1934–1949
Guy, J A (ALP/UAP) 1929–1934
Jackson, D S (NAT) 1919–1929
Jensen, J A (ALP) 1910–1919
Storrer, D (PROT) 1903–1910
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Bass
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Bass
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Bass
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.