Profile of the electoral division of Petrie (Qld)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Petrie (2018) [PDF 1020KB]
Map of the Division of Petrie (2017) [PDF 2.28MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Andrew Petrie, 1798–1872, a noted civil engineer, pioneer, explorer and the first free settler in Brisbane in 1837.
152 sq km
Location description

The Division of Petrie consists of:

  • part of the Brisbane City Council, and
  • part of the Moreton Bay Regional Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
The area is mainly residential with some light industrial and commercial activities.
Demographic Rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Howarth, L (LNQ) 2013–
D'Ath, Y (ALP) 2007–2013
Gambaro, T (LP) 1996–2007
Johns, G T (ALP) 1987–1996
Hodges, J C (LP) 1984–1987
Wells, D M (ALP) 1983–1984
Hodges, J C (LP) 1974–1983
Cooke, N M (LP) 1972–1974
Hulme, A S (LP) 1963–1972
O'Brien, R C (ALP) 1961–1963
Hulme, A S (LP) 1949–1961
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Back to top