Profile of the electoral division of Groom (Qld)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
1984 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Groom (2018) [PDF 754KB]
Map of the Division of Groom (2017) [PDF 1.73MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Sir Littleton Ernest Groom, 1867–1936, Speaker of the House of Representatives (1926–29 ) and a Member of the House of Representatives (1901–29 and 1931–36).
5,586 sq km
Location description

The Division of Groom consists of part of the Toowoomba Regional Council.

Products/Industries of the Area:
This area is noted for its rich and diverse range of products and industries including agriculture, retailing and food processing as well as for the provision of educational and community services. Toowoomba is known as the Garden City. The University of Southern Queensland is located in Toowoomba while the Army Aviation Centre is based at Oakey.
Demographic Rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
McVeigh, J (LNQ) 2016–
Macfarlane, I (LNQ) 1998–2016
Taylor, W (LP) 1988–1998
McVeigh, T (NP) 1984–1988
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Back to top