Profile of the electoral division of Bowman (Qld)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Bowman (2018) [PDF 559KB]
Map of the Division of Bowman (2017) [PDF 3.25MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of David Bowman, 1860–1916, one of the first members of the Labour party in the Queensland Parliament (1899–1902 and 1904–1916) who rendered valuable service in the interests of the community.
536 sq km
Location description

The Division of Bowman consists of:

  • part of the Redland City Council, and
  • part of the Brisbane City Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Farming, retail and industrial activities. Tourism on the islands and a winery at Mount Cotton.
Demographic Rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Laming, A (LNQ) 2004–
Sciacca, C (ALP) 1998–2004
West, A (LP) 1996–1998
Sciacca, C A (ALP) 1987–1996
Keogh, L J (ALP) 1983–1987
Jull, D F (LP) 1975–1983
Keogh, L J (ALP) 1969–1975
Gibbs, W T (LP) 1963–1969
Comber, J (ALP) 1961–1963
McColm, M L (LP) 1949–1961
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Back to top