2023 Aston by-election

A by-election has been called for the Division of Aston. There will be in-person and postal voting options available for this by-election and it is important to plan how you will cast your vote according to your personal circumstances.

There are 5 candidates who have been officially declared for the 2023 Aston by-election. A random draw for positions on the ballot paper was undertaken at a public event on Friday 10 March.

  1. MILLER, Owen - FUSION: Science, Pirate, Secular, Climate Emergency
  2. CAMPBELL, Roshena - Liberal
  3. DI CAMILLO, Angelica - The Greens
  4. DOYLE, Mary - Australian Labor Party
  5. TESA, Maya - Independent

On by-election day

You can vote at any polling place in the Division of Aston on by-election day, Saturday 1 April, from 8am to 6pm.

Early voting

Early voting will be available from Monday 20 March 2023. Please check opening days and times.

Postal voting

Can't get to a polling place on by-election day?

Overseas voting

If you are enrolled in the Division of Aston, you can apply for a postal vote.

Australian Embassies and Consulate offices overseas will not be conducting in-person voting or collecting postal votes for return to Australia. All overseas postal votes will be delivered by an international courier (DHL Express) with a return satchel and waybill.

Accessible voting options

There are a range of voting options for people with disability or mobility restrictions available.

In this by-election, you will be completing one House of Representatives ballot paper. To vote for a Member of the House of Representatives, you are required to write the number '1' in the box next to the candidate who is your first choice, and the numbers '2', '3' and so on against all the other candidates until all the boxes have been numbered, in order of your preference.

The AEC takes the safety of our election workers and voters seriously. We have appropriate measures in place to minimise the spread of COVID-19 including:

  • Hand sanitiser will be available, and you are encouraged to bring and wear your face mask and maintain physical distance.
  • Physical distancing of 1.5m will be maintained wherever possible.
  • Every polling place will have a Hygiene Officer who’ll focus on COVID-19 safety measures such as touch point cleaning and regularly sanitising used items such as pencils.
  • There will be clean pencils available, and voters are also able to bring their own pencil or pen. Voters will be asked to deposit their used AEC pencil in the box at the exit to the polling place so that the pencils can be sanitised by the hygiene officer after every use.

When taking people’s votes in other settings, such as mobile polling at residential aged care facilities, we’ll be taking additional measures, including those required by the facility.

The AEC continues to monitor the COVID-19 environment and follows advice from relevant health authorities. This may result in changes to the measures put in place.

Plan your vote

We encourage all voters to plan ahead. If you don’t think you can make it to a polling place on election day, there are other voting options. You might be eligible to go to an early voting centre or apply for a postal vote.

By-election date announced

Monday 20 February

Postal vote applications open

Monday 20 February

Issue of writ

Monday 27 February

Close of rolls

Monday 8pm 6 March

Close of nominations

Thursday 12pm 9 March

Declaration of nominations

Friday 12pm 10 March

Early voting starts

Monday 20 March

Postal vote applications close

Wednesday 6pm 29 March

By-election day

Saturday 1 April

Return of writ

On or before Wednesday 7 June

Updated: 16 March 2023