Profile of the electoral division of Wide Bay (Qld)

Updated: 7 August 2020
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Wide Bay (2018) [PDF 1.05MB]
Map of the Division of Wide Bay (2017) [PDF 2.65MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after the bay sighted by Lieutenant James Cook RN, navigator on HM Bark Endeavour, on 18 May 1770.
14,227 sq km
Location description

The Division of Wide Bay consists of:

  • Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council,
  • Gympie Regional Council,
  • Noosa Shire Council,
  • part of the Fraser Coast Regional Council,
  • part of the South Burnett Regional Council, and
  • part of the Sunshine Coast Regional Council.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details