2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Swan (WA)

Updated: 8 July 2016
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
19 January 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Map of Division:
Name derivation:
Named after the Swan River which was discovered and named by the Dutch explorer, Willem de Vlamingh in 1697, after the famous black swans of the area.
134 sq km
Location description:
Swan is bordered by the Swan River in the north and west, the Canning River and the City of Canning in the south, and the Roe Highway, Great Eastern Highway and Perth Airport in the east. Suburbs include Ascot, Belmont, Burswood, Bentley, Cannington, Carlisle, Cloverdale, Como, East Cannington, East Victoria Park, Forrestfield (part), High Wycombe, Karawara, Kensington, Kewdale, Lathlain, Manning, Redcliffe, Rivervale, Perth Airport, Queens Park, Salter Point, South Guildford (part), South Perth, St James, Victoria Park, Waterford, Welshpool and Wilson.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Industries include education, tourism, recreation, light industry, commercial, retail and transport.
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Irons, S (LP) 2007–
  • Wilkie, K (ALP) 1998–2007
  • Randall, D (LP) 1996–1998
  • Beazley, K C (ALP) 1980–1996
  • Martyr, J R (LP) 1975–1980
  • Bennett, A F (ALP) 1969–1975
  • Cleaver, R (LP) 1955–1969
  • Webb, C H (ALP) 1954–1955
  • Grayden, W L (LP) 1949–1954
  • Hamilton, L W (CP) 1946–1949
  • Mountjoy, D A (ALP) 1943–1946
  • Marwick, T W (CP) 1940–1943
  • Gregory, H (CP) 1922–1940
  • Prowse, J H (CP) 1919–1922
  • Corby, E W (ALP) 1918–1919
  • Forrest, J (PROT/WAP/LIB/NAT) 1901–1918
AEC contact:
Swan Divisional Office