2013 federal election: Profile for the electoral division of Swan (WA)

Updated: 4 September 2013
Western Australia
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Map of Division:
A4 map of the Division of Swan (2008) [PDF 120KB]
Map of the Division of Swan (2008) [PDF 3.8MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after the Swan River which was discovered and named by the Dutch explorer, Willem de Vlamingh in 1697, after the famous black swans of the area.
Area and Location Description:
Swan covers an area of approximately 126 sq km bordered by the Swan River in the north and west, the Canning River and High Road in the south, and the Roe Highway and Perth Airport in the east. Suburbs include Ascot, Beckenham, Belmont, Bentley, Burswood, Cannington, Carlisle, Cloverdale, Como, East Cannington, East Victoria Park, Ferndale, Karawara, Kensington, Kewdale, Langford, Lathlain, Lynward, Manning, Queens Park, Redcliffe, Rivervale, Salter Point, St James, South Perth, Victoria Park, Waterford, Welshpool and Wilson. The traditional owners of the land are the Noongar people.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Light industry, commercial and retail trade, transport including trucking, railway marshalling yards and Perth international and domestic airport terminals, education including Curtin University of Technology, and sport and tourism including Burswood Entertainment Complex.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Irons, S (LP) 2007–
Wilkie, K (ALP) 1998–2007
Randall, D (LP) 1996–1998
Beazley, K C (ALP) 1980–1996
Martyr, J R (LP) 1975–1980
Bennett, A F (ALP) 1969–1975
Cleaver, R (LP) 1955–1969
Webb, C H (ALP) 1954–1955
Grayden, W L (LP) 1949–1954
Hamilton, L W (CP) 1946–1949
Mountjoy, D A (ALP) 1943–1946
Marwick, T W (CP) 1940–1943
Gregory, H (CP) 1922–1940
Prowse, J H (CP) 1919–1922
Corby, E W (ALP) 1918–1919
Forrest, J (PROT/WAP/LIB/NAT) 1901–1918
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Swan
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Swan
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Swan
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.