2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Stirling

Updated: 9 February 2011


Western Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir James Stirling 1791–1865, the first Governor of Western Australia.

Area and Location Description:

Stirling covers an area of approximately 76 sq km from the Indian Ocean to the west and Mirrabooka and Dianella in the east. Suburbs include Balcatta, Balga, Carine, Gwelup, Hamersley, Karrinyup, Mirrabooka, Nollamara, North Beach, Scarborough, Stirling and Westminster and parts of Dianella, Doubleview, Innaloo, Woodlands and Yokine.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light industrial areas at Osborne Park and Balcatta, market gardens, boat building, shoe factories, food processing, clothing and chemical production.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Keenan, M (LP) 2004–
  • McFarlane, J (ALP) 1998–2004
  • Cameron, E (LP) 1993–1998
  • Edwards, R F (ALP) 1983–1993
  • Viner, R I (LP) 1972–1983
  • Webb, C H (ALP) 1961–1972
  • Cash, E D (LP) 1958–1961
  • Webb, C H (ALP) 1955–1958

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Stirling

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.