2004 Profile of the Western Australian division of Stirling

Updated: 30 September 2011


Western Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir James Stirling 1791–1865, the first Governor of Western Australia.

Area and Location Description:

Stirling covers an area of approximately 76 sq km from the Indian Ocean to the west and Mirrabooka and Dianella in the east. The suburbs of Balcatta, Balga, Carine, Gwelup, Hamersley, Innaloo, Karrinyup, Mirrabooka, Nollamara, North Beach, Scarborough, Stirling and Westminster are entirely within the division. It also encompasses part of the suburbs of Doubleview, Dianella, Woodlands and Yokine.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light industrial areas at Osborne Park and Balcatta, market gardens, boat building, shoe factories, food processing, clothing and chemical production.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • KEENAN, M (LP)2004–
  • MCFARLANE, J (ALP) 1998–2004
  • CAMERON, E (LP) 1993–1998
  • EDWARDS, R F (ALP) 1983–1993
  • VINER, R I (LP) 1972–1983
  • WEBB, C H (ALP) 1961–1972
  • CASH, E D (LP) 1958–1961
  • WEBB, C H (ALP) 1955–1958

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 86 965
  • Informal Vote: 5.92%
  • Turnout: 92.95%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 52.04% | ALP: 47.96%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.