2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of O'Connor

Updated: 9 February 2011


Western Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Charles O'Connor 1843–1902, Engineer in Chief of Western Australia (appointed 1891). Designed Fremantle Harbour and the pipeline which supplies Kalgoorlie and other goldfields with water.

Area and Location Description:

O'Connor covers an area of approximately 179 047 sq km from Geraldton in the north to Albany in the south. The main locations include the City of Albany and the City of Geraldton, and the regional centres of Carnamah, Corrigin, Dalwallinu, Denmark, Dowerin, Katanning, Kellerberrin, Kojonup, Lake Grace, Mount Barker, Mingenew, Moora, Morawa, Mukinbudin, Ravensthorpe and Wagin.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Grain, sheep, cattle, tree farming, fishing, and aquaculture, vineyards and winemaking, talc and mineral sands mining, farmstays and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Tuckey, W (LP) 1980–

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for O'Connor

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.