2001 Profile of the division of Newcastle

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the city of Newcastle which was named by Governor King in 1804.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 199 sq km from Stockton, The Hunter River and The New England Hwy in the north. The western boundary of Newcastle City Council and Wallsend, Kotara and Merewether Heights in the south.

The main suburbs include Adamstown, Birmingham Gardens, Broadmeadow, Carrington, Cooks Hill, Hamilton, Islington, Jesmond, Kotara, Lambton, Maryland, Mayfield, Merewether, Newcastle, New Lambton, Sandgate, Shortland, Stockton, The Junction, Tighes Hill, Wallsend (part), Waratah and Wickham.

Products/Industries of the area:

BHP Steelworks and associated industries, ship-building and repairs, transport equipment, tourism, tertiary education, food-processing, railway goods, chemicals and heavy engineering. Newcastle is the second largest city in NSW and is a busy port, handling imports and exports.

First Proclaimed



  • Sharon Grierson (ALP) 2001–
  • A Morris (ALP) 1983–2001
  • C K Jones (ALP) 1958–83
  • D O Watkins (FLP/ALP) 1935–58
  • D Watkins (ALP/FLP) 1901–35

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
Supplementary Election – 21 November 1998 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 77 596

Informal Vote: 4.88%

Turnout: 88.37%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Candidate Preferred:

  • ALP: 67.33%
  • GRN: 32.67%

Enrolment: 78 388

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.79%
  • Preamble Question 0.88%


  • Republic Question 95.27%
  • Preamble Question 95.26%

Enrolment: 89 198

Informal Vote: 4.8%

Turnout: 94.27%

Seat Status: Fairly Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 56.91%
  • LP: 43.09%