2001 Profile of the division of Lindsay

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Norman Lindsay (1879–1969), a well-known writer and artist.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 351 sq km from Claremont Meadows to Blaxland and from Agnes Banks, Londonderry, Berkshire Park in the north to Wallacia, Luddenham in the south.

The main suburbs include Agnes Banks, Berkshire Park, Cambridge Park, Castlereagh, Claremont Meadows, Cranebrook, Emu Plains, Glenbrook, Glenmore Park, Kingswood, Lapstone, Llandilo, Luddenham, Mulgoa, Orchard Hills, Penrith, Regentville, Wallacia and Werrington.

Products/Industries of the area:

Agriculture, farming (dairying, poultry, beef, fruit, vegetables), construction and service industries, tourism, wholesale and retail trade, building materials, engineering and electrical equipment, textiles, plastic and aluminium products, colour TV manufacturing, pharmaceutical goods and concrete and gravel extraction.

First Proclaimed



  • Jackie Kelly (LP) 1996–
  • R V Free (ALP) 1984–96

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Outer Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 84 257

Informal Vote: 5.52%

Turnout: 96.02%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 48.72%
  • LP: 51.28%

Enrolment: 85 979

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.92%
  • Preamble Question 1.07%


  • Republic Question 96.03%
  • Preamble Question 96.04%

Enrolment: 81 618

Informal Vote: 6.14%

Turnout: 95.51%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 44.53%
  • LP: 55.47%