2001 Profile of the division of Kennedy

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Edmund Kennedy (1818–1848), explorer in the area.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 562 160 sq km from the Gulf of Carpentaria and Mareeba in the north to Boulia in the south and from the Queensland border in the west to the Pacific Ocean in the east.

The main towns include Atherton, Babinda, Camooweal, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Georgetown, Gordonvale, Hughenden, Ingham, Innisfail, Mareeba, Mount Isa, Normanton and Tully.

Products/Industries of the area:

Mainly primary production including grains (sorghum, sunflowers, wheat), beef cattle, cotton, coal mining, gemstones, sheep, sugar, agricultural services, copper, gold, silver, tin, lead, zinc, uranium, fishing (prawns, crabs, barramundi), marble, tobacco, fruit and vegetables, peanuts, dairy products and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Bob Katter (IND/NP) 1993–
  • R J Hulls (ALP) 1990–93
  • R C Katter (NP) 1966–90
  • W J F Riordan (FLP/ALP) 1936–66
  • D Riordan (FLP/ALP) 1929–36
  • G A Francis (NAT) 1925–29
  • C McDonald (ALP) 1901–25

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 84 340

Informal Vote: 3.78%

Turnout: 93.15%

Seat Status: Safe Independent

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 38.81%
  • NP: 61.19%

Enrolment: 84 541

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.78%
  • Preamble Question 0.82%


  • Republic Question 93.35%
  • Preamble Question 93.36%

Enrolment: 84 739

Informal Vote: 4.65%

Turnout: 93.43%

Seat Status: Safe National

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 41.05%
  • NP: 58.95%

Two Candidate Preferred*:

  • IND: 69.69%
  • ALP: 30.31%

*based on distribution of preferences between IND and ALP candidates.