2001 Profile of the division of Gilmore

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Dame Mary Gilmore (1865–1962) a well-known poet, author and journalist. She was the first woman member of the Australian Workers' Union, a champion of peace and a socialist reformer.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 5612 sq km along the coast from Kiama in the north to Durras North in the south, then west to Moss Vale and Wingello.

The main towns include Kiama, Nowra, Ulladulla, Moss Vale and Bundanoon.

Products/Industries of the area:

Tourism, timber, dairy and beef cattle, paper mill, brickworks, light engineering, dairy factory, steel fabrication and fishing.

First Proclaimed



  • Joanna Gash (LP) 1996–
  • P J Knott (ALP) 1993–96
  • J R Sharp (NP) 1984–93

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 78 777

Informal Vote: 2.30%

Turnout: 96.21%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 45.96%
  • LP: 54.04%

Enrolment: 81 457

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.63%
  • Preamble Question 0.70%


  • Republic Question 95.86%
  • Preamble Question 95.86%

Enrolment: 83 909

Informal Vote: 4.34%

Turnout: 95.68%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 35.37%
  • LP: 64.63%