2001 Profile of the division of Fowler

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Lillian Fowler (1887–1954), first woman alderman in New South Wales (1929–1948) and first woman mayor in Australia (1938–1939), Member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly (1944–1950).

Area and Location Description:

Fowler covers an area of approximately 47sq km and extends from Georges River (Hume Highway) in the east, south to the M5 Freeway, into Liverpool Street, to Hoxton Park Road, west to Cartwright Avenue, then north along Banks Road to North Liverpool Road. The boundary continues west along North Liverpool Road to Cowpasture Road and then follows Cowpasture Road, north until Edensor Park Road where it goes east to Smithfield Road. The boundary continues north east along Smithfield Road then continues south east along Canley Vale Rd, then Northeast along Humphries Road, until Orphan School Creek which it follows to Prospect Creek. From Prospect Creek to Fairfield Street until Woodville Road, where it follows Woodville Road south until it comes to the Hume Highway. The boundary then follows the Hume Highway west until it crosses the Georges River.

The main suburbs include Bonnyrigg, Cabramatta, Canley Heights, Carramar, Edensor Park, Fairfield East, Lansvale, Liverpool, Mt Pritchard and St Johns Park.

Products/Industries of the area:

The main industries are small business regional growth centre government departments and light manufacturing.

First Proclaimed



  • Julia Irwin (ALP) 1998–
  • T Grace (ALP) 1984–98

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Outer Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 90 623

Informal Vote: 5.78%

Turnout: 93.93%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 76.33%
  • LP: 23.67%

Enrolment: 92 848

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 1.48%
  • Preamble Question 1.71%


  • Republic Question 93.91%
  • Preamble Question 93.87%

Enrolment: 82 745

Informal Vote: 12.75%

Turnout: 93.35%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 71.49%
  • LP: 28.51%