2001 Profile of the division of Eden-Monaro

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 30 946 sq km from Queanbeyan to South Durras in the north, south to the Victorian border, inland to the Great Dividing Range encompassing the border of the Australian Capital Territory.

The main towns include Adaminaby, Batemans Bay, Bega, Berridale, Bodalla, Bombala, Braidwood, Bungendore, Captains Flat, Cooma, Dalmeny, Delegate, Eden, Jindabyne, Merimbula, Moruya, Narooma, Queanbeyan, Sutton and Tathra.

Products/Industries of the area:

The area around Bega produces vegetables, maize, butter, cheese and also contains fish canneries, timbermills and brickworks. The division also produces beans, dairy cattle, potatoes, wool and contains sawmills, wood-pulping factories and a eucalyptus distillery. The Snowy Mountains hydro-electric scheme and the tourist areas around Jindabyne are in this division.

First Proclaimed



  • Gary Nairn (LP) 1996–
  • J H J Snow (ALP) 1983–96
  • M E Sainsbury (LP) 1975–83
  • R B Whan (ALP) 1972–75
  • A D Fraser (ALP) 1969–72
  • D R Munro (LP) 1966–69
  • A D Fraser (ALP) 1943–66
  • J A Perkins (UAP) 1931–43
  • J J Cusack (ALP) 1929–31
  • J A Perkins (NAT) 1926–29
  • A Chapman (PROT/LIB/NAT) 1901–26

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 78 927

Informal Vote: 3.21%

Turnout: 95.79%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 49.82%
  • LP: 50.18%

Enrolment: 80 101

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.82%
  • Preamble Question 0.90%


  • Republic Question 95.42%
  • Preamble Question 95.39%

Enrolment: 85 815

Informal Vote: 4.42%

Turnout: 95.7%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 48.31%
  • LP: 51.69%