2001 Profile of the division of Berowra

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 712 sq km from Brooklyn and the Hawkesbury River in the north, to Pennant Hills and Beecroft in the south west, Sydney and Newcastle Freeway, Cockle and Cowan Creeks in the east, Hawkesbury River, O'Haras Creek, New Line Road and Castle Hill Road in the west.

The main suburbs include Arcadia, Asquith, Beecroft, Berowra, Brooklyn, Cherrybrook, Cowan, Dangar Island, Galston, Glenorie, Hornsby, Lower Hawkesbury, Maroota, Middle Dural, Mount Colah, Mount Kuring-gai, Normanhurst, Pennant Hills, Sackville North, Thornleigh, Waitara, Westleigh and parts of Carlingford, Castle Hill, Cattai, Dural, Lower Portland, Wahroonga and Wisemans Ferry.

Products/Industries of the area:

Fishing and oyster farming from the Hawkesbury River area. Retail, service and various small industries including hobby farming, citrus fruit orchards, poultry farming, horticulture, and tourism.

First Proclaimed



  • Philip Ruddock (LP) 1993–
  • (Dr)H A Edwards (LP) 1972–93
  • T E F Hughes (LP) 1969–72

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Outer Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 86 091

Informal Vote: 3.04%

Turnout: 95.17%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 36.48%
  • LP: 63.52%

Enrolment: 87 351

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.66%
  • Preamble Question 0.77%


  • Republic Question 95.47%
  • Preamble Question 95.46%

Enrolment: 85 766

Informal Vote: 4.36%

Turnout: 94.85%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 34.35%
  • LP: 65.65%