Profile of the electoral division of Cowan (WA)

Updated: 30 June 2022
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
02 August 2021
First election this name was used at:
1984 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2022 federal election
Maps and data

A4 map of the electoral division of Cowan (2021) [PDF 829KB]

Map of the Division of Cowan (2021) [PDF 1.40MB]

Download Western Australia GIS data

Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Edith Dircksey Cowan OBE, 1861–1932. Cowan was the first woman elected to any Parliament in Australia, state or Commonwealth, when she was elected in 1921 as the Member for West Perth in the Western Australian Legislative Assembly.
95 sq km
Location description

The Division of Cowan consists of:

  • part of the Bayswater City Council,
  • part of the Joondalup City Council,
  • part of the Stirling City Council,
  • part of the Wanneroo City Council, and
  • part of the Swan City Council.
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.