Profile of the electoral division of Burt (WA)

Updated: 19 November 2019
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
19 January 2016
First election this name was used at:
2016 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Map of Division:
Name derivation:
Named to honour succeeding generations of the Burt family for their signifcant contributions to the justice system and for their wider contributions to public service, specifically:
  • Sir Archibald Paull Burt KT, 1810–79, who was appointed the first Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Western Australia in 1861,
  • Septimus Burt, 1847–1919, whose public roles included that of Attorney-General of the colony of Western Australia (1890–97) at the time of colonial self-government, and
  • The Honourable Sir Francis Theodore Page Burt AC KCMG QC, 1918–2004, who served as a judge of the Supreme Court of Western Australia, Chief Justice of Western Australia, Lieutenant Governor of Western Australia and Governor of Western Australia (1990–93).
172 sq km
Location description:
Burt covers parts of the Cities of Armadale, Canning and Gosnells. The division is constructed from suburbs in the south-east metropolitan areas of Perth including the suburbs of Armadale (part), Brookdale, Camillo, Canning Vale, Champion Lakes, Forrestdale, Gosnells (part), Harrisdale, Haynes, Hilbert (part), Huntingdale, Kelmscott, Langford, Mount Nasura, Piara Waters, Seville Grove, Southern River, Thornlie and Wungong (part).
Demographic rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC contact:
Please contact the Divisional Office of Brand
Back to top