Profile of the electoral division of Macnamara (Vic)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
2019 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Macnamara (2018) [PDF 724KB]
Map of the Division of Macnamara (2018) [PDF 2.74MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Dame Annie Jean Macnamara DBE, 1899–1968. Macnamara was a medical researcher and doctor who discovered there was more than one type of the polio virus and worked extensively with children suffering from poliomyelitis, training doctors and physiotherapists in the management of the disease.
41 sq km
Location description

The Division of Macnamara consists of:

  • Port Phillip City Council,
  • part of Glen Eira City Council,
  • part of Melbourne City Council, and
  • part of Stonnington City Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Manufacturing, commercial and retail enterprises and tourism.
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website


The first member for Macnamara will be elected at the next federal general election.

AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top