Profile of the electoral division of Hotham (Vic)

Updated: 11 July 2018
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1969 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
The next federal election following the 2016 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Hotham (2018) [PDF 724KB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after Sir Charles Hotham RN KCB, 1806–55. Hotham was Lieutenant-Governor of Victoria (1854-55) and the first Governor of Victoria (1855).
83 sq km
Location description

The Division of Hotham consists of:

  • part of the Glen Eira City Council,
  • part of the Greater Dandenong City Council,
  • part of the Kingston City Council, and
  • part of the Monash City Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Retail, health care, food services and education.
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

  • O'Dwyer, K (LP) 2009–
  • Costello, P (LP) 1990–2009
  • Shipton, R F (LP) 1975–1990
  • Gorton, J G (LP/IND) 1968–1975
  • Holt, H E (LP) 1949–1967
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top