Profile of the electoral division of Corio (Vic)

Updated: 9 July 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Corio (2018) [PDF 724KB]
Map of the Division of Corio (2018) [PDF 5.05MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after the geographic area covered by the electoral division. 'Corio' is beleved to have originated from an Aboriginal word 'coraiyo' meaning small marsupial or sandy cliffs or from the Aboriginal word 'Korayn' meaning salt.
773 sq km
Location description

The Division of Corio consists of part of the Greater Geelong City Council.

Products/Industries of the Area:
Health and allied services, education and research, manufacturing, tourism, agribusiness, construction and business services.
Demographic Rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

  • Marles, R (ALP) 2007–
  • O'Connor, G (ALP) 1993–2007
  • Scholes, G G D (ALP) 1967–1993
  • Opperman, H F (LP) 1949–1967
  • Dedman, J J (ALP) 1940–1949
  • Casey, R G (UAP) 1931–1940
  • Lewis, A (ALP) 1929–1931
  • Lister, J H (NAT) 1917–1929
  • Ozanne, A T (ALP) 1914–1917
  • Kendell, W (LIB) 1913–1914
  • Ozanne, A T (ALP) 1910–1913
  • Crouch, R A (PROT) 1901–1910
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top