Profile of the electoral division of Sturt (SA)

Updated: 19 November 2019
South Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
20 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Sturt (2018) [PDF 1.87MB]
Map of the Division of Sturt (2018) [PDF 2.71MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Captain Charles Sturt, 1795–1869. Sturt conducted several journeys of exploration into Australia's interior, served for a period as commandant of the garrison on Norfolk Island and served in the South Australian public service.
97 sq km
Location description

The Division of Sturt consists of:

  • Campbelltown City Council,
  • City of Norwood Payneham and St Peters,
  • part of Adelaide Hills Council,
  • part of the City of Burnside,
  • part of the City of Port Adelaide Enfield,
  • part of the City of Tea Tree Gully, and
  • part of the City of Unley
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.