Profile of the electoral division of Spence (SA)

Updated: 19 November 2019
South Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
20 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
2019 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Spence (2018) [PDF 996KB]
Map of the Division of Spence (2018) [PDF 3.03MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Catherine Helen Spence, 1825–1910. Spence was an advocate for female suffrage and electoral reform and was the first female political candidate in Australia when she stood (unsuccessfully) for a seat at the Federal Convention elections of 1897.
532 sq km
Location description

The Division of Spence consists of:

  • City of Playford,
  • Town of Gawler,
  • part of the Barossa Council,
  • part of the City of Salisbury, and
  • part of the Light Regional Council
Demographic Rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:

The first member was elected at the 2019 federal general election.

Former members for any electoral division can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook.

AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.