Profile of the electoral division of Mayo (SA)

Updated: 17 July 2018

Mayo by-election

The electoral boundaries for the Mayo by-election will be based on the boundaries at the 2016 federal election

South Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
20 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1984 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
The next federal election following the 2016 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Mayo (2018) [PDF 1.87MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Dr Helen Mary Mayo OBE, 1878–1967. Mayo worked in the areas of maternal and child health and welfare in South Australia, was the first woman elected to an Australian University Council in 1914 and co-founded the Mothers' and Babies' Health Association in 1927.
9,135 sq km
Location description

The Division of Mayo consists of:

  • Alexandrina Council,
  • City of Victor Harbor,
  • District Council of Yankalilla,
  • Kangaroo Island Council,
  • Mount Barker District Council,
  • part of the Adelaide Hills Council,
  • part of the City of Mitcham, and
  • part of the City of Onkaparinga
Products/Industries of the Area:
Apples, Army barracks at Woodside, beef, breweries, cereals, cherries, copper mines, dairying, forestry, natural spring water, pears, sheep, smallgoods, tourism and wine.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Sharkie, R* (NSXT) 2016–
  • Briggs, J (LP) 2008–2016
  • Downer, A (LP) 1984–2008

*Rebekha Sharkie resigned as the member for Mayo in May 2018. A by-election is being conducted on 28 July 2018 to elect a new member.

AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top