Profile of the electoral division of Barker (SA)

Updated: 19 November 2019
South Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
20 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
1903 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Barker (2018) [PDF 1.81MB]
Map of the Division of Barker (2018) [PDF 22.42MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Captain Collet Barker, 1784–1831. Barker commanded the settlement at Fort Wellington in the Northern Territory and the penal settlement at King George Sound in Western Australia. It was on his return voyage to Sydney in 1831 that Barker explored the eastern shore of Gulf St Vincent, Mount Lofty and the mouth of the Murray River.
65,206 sq km
Location description

The Division of Barker consists of:

  • Berri Barmera Council,
  • City of Mount Gambier,
  • Coorong District Council,
  • District Council of Grant,
  • District Council of Karoonda East Murray,
  • District Council of Loxton Waikerie,
  • District Council of Robe,
  • Kingston District Council,
  • Naracoorte Lucindale Council,
  • Mid Murray Council,
  • Renmark Paringa Council,
  • Rural City of Murray Bridge,
  • Southern Mallee District Council,
  • Tatiara District Council,
  • Wattle Range Council,
  • part of the Barossa Council,
  • part of the Light Regional Council,
  • part of the Outback Community Authority, and
  • Unincorporated Riverland
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.