Profile of the electoral division of Maranoa (Qld)

Updated: 19 November 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Maranoa (2018) [PDF 2.53MB]
Map of the Division of Maranoa (2017) [PDF 9.88MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named for the district which is watered by the Maranoa River. The name 'Maranoa' is possibly a corruption of the Mandandanji words 'mara' for duck and 'ngoa' for egg.
729,897 sq km
Location description

The Division of Maranoa consists of:

  • Balonne Shire Council,
  • Barcaldine Regional Council,
  • Barcoo Shire Council,
  • Blackall Tambo Regional Council,
  • Bulloo Shire Council,
  • Diamantina Shire Council,
  • Goondiwindi Regional Council,
  • Longreach Regional Council,
  • Maranoa Regional Council,
  • Murweh Shire Council,
  • Paroo Shire Council,
  • Quilpie Shire Council,
  • Western Downs Regional Council,
  • Winton Shire Council,
  • part of the South Burnett Regional Council,
  • part of the Southern Downs Regional Council, and
  • part of the Toowoomba Regional Council.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details