Profile of the electoral division of Longman (Qld)

Updated: 26 March 2018

Longman by-election

The electoral boundaries for the Division of Longman were unchanged following the Queensland redistribution process. Boundaries are the same as those at the time of the 2016 federal election.

Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
1996 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
The next federal general election following the 2016 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Longman (2018) [PDF 725KB]
Map of the Division of Longman (2017) [PDF 3.62MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Irene Maud Longman, 1877–1964, the first woman elected to the Queensland Parliament (1929–32) and at the time only the third woman elected to any Parliament in Australia. Mrs Longman was actively involved in issues relating to the family, women and mental health.
1,237 sq km
Location description

The Division of Longman consists of:

  • part of the Moreton Bay Regional Council,
  • part of the Somerset Regional Council, and
  • part of the Sunshine Coast Regional Council.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Tourism, light industry, beef cattle, horse studs, prawn farming, poultry farms, pig farming, and various crops including grains, pineapples, fruit and flower farms.
Demographic Rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Lamb, S* (ALP) 2016–
  • Roy, W (LNQ) 2010–2016
  • Sullivan, J (ALP) 2007–2010
  • Brough, M (LP) 1996–2007

*Susan Lamb resigned as the member for Longman in May 2018. A by-election is being conducted on 28 July 2018 to elect a new member.

AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Back to top