Profile of the electoral division of Leichhardt (Qld)

Updated: 19 November 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Leichhardt (2018) [PDF 725KB]
Map of the Division of Leichhardt (2017) [PDF 5.79MB]
Download Queensland GIS dataDownload Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Friedrich Wilhelm Ludwig Leichhardt, 1813–48, naturalist and explorer of the area from Moreton Bay to Port Essington.
148,559 sq km
Location description

The Division of Leichhardt consists of:

  • Aurukun Shire Council,
  • Cook Shire Council,
  • Douglas Shire Council,
  • Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council,
  • Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council,
  • Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council,
  • Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council,
  • Napranum Aboriginal Shire Council,
  • Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council,
  • Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council,
  • Torres Shire Council,
  • Torres Strait Island Regional Council,
  • Weipa Town Council,
  • Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council,
  • part of the Cairns Regional Council,
  • part of the Carpentaria Shire Council, and
  • part of the Mareeba Shire Council.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details