Profile of the electoral division of Lyne (NSW)

Updated: 02 April 2019
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named in honour of Sir William John Lyne, 1844–1913. Lyne was a participant in the Constitutional Conventions that led to the Commonwealth of Australia and was the first member of the Australian Parliament to be offered a commission to form a government.
16 099 sq km
Location Description:
Lyne covers an area from Ballengarra in the north to Paterson and Karuah in the south and inland to the western boundaries of the Shires of Greater Taree, Port Macquarie – Hastings, Gloucester, Dungog and Maitland (part). The main towns include Bonny Hills, Bulahdelah, Dungog, Forster, Gloucester, Gresford, Harrington, Hawks Nest, Lake Cathie, Lansdowne, Laurieton, Nabiac, North Haven, Old Bar, Paterson, Smiths Lake, Stroud, Taree and Wauchope.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Products/industries of the area:
Timber, beef/dairy cattle, mixed farming, fishing and oyster farming, boat building, engineering, mining and tourism.
Demographic rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Gillespie, D (NP) 2013–
  • Oakeshott, R (Ind) 2008–2013
  • Vaile, M (NP) 1993–2008
  • Cowan, D B (NCP/NP) 1980–1993
  • Lucock, P E (CP/NCP) 1952–1980
  • Eggins, E J (CP) 1949–1952
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
Back to top