Federal electoral divisions in Western Australia formalised

Updated: 2 August 2021

The next federal general election will be conducted on new House of Representatives divisions in Western Australia after notices were today published in the Commonwealth Government Notices Gazette.

While final names and boundaries for Western Australian electoral divisions were announced on 4 June 2021, today’s gazettal is the step that formally sets them in place.

Today’s gazettal also provides people with further details about the boundaries, with maps and geospatial data for the new electoral divisions now available.

More detailed division maps and the final redistribution report will be available after the material has been tabled in both houses of Parliament by the Minister.

Editor’s notes:

  • People on the electoral roll that are affected by the redistribution will now be automatically moved into their new federal electoral division. No action is necessary.
  • While the new boundaries of federal electoral divisions will be in place from Monday 2 August 2021, federal elections will not be contested on these new electoral divisions until a writ is issued for a general election following the expiry or dissolution of the House of Representatives.
  • Western Australian maps and geospatial data
  • Further information about the redistribution process