Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) elections

Updated: 7 August 2019


Voting for the TSRA Board Member elections was completed on Saturday 30 July 2016. Voting took place in 14 contested wards. Voting did not take place in the wards of Dauan Island, Masig Island, Ngurapai and Muralag, Saibai Island, Seisia and Ugar Island as only one candidate was nominated. Those wards were uncontested.

Voting was open to Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal people aged 18 or over who were correctly enrolled at an address within a ward.


TSRA Board Member results
Ward Election Status Elected Member
Badu Island Counting Complete BAIRA, Horace
Bamaga Counting Complete YUSIA, Patricia
Boigu Island Counting Complete PETER, Eric John
Dauan Island Uncontested, Complete GAIDAN, Joel George
Erub Island Counting Complete BEDFORD, Kenneth Reginald
Hammond Island Counting Complete DORANTE, Seriako
Iama Island Counting Complete LUI, Getano B (Jnr)
Kubin Counting Complete BOSUN, David
Mabuiag Island Counting Complete REPU, Cygnet J
Masig Island Uncontested, Complete MOSBY, Hilda
Mer Island Counting Complete NOAH, Aven Stanley
Ngurapai & Muralag Uncontested, Complete LOBAN, Yen N
Port Kennedy Counting Complete PEDRO, Stephen
Poruma Island Counting Complete FAUID, Frank (Snr)
Saibai Island Uncontested, Complete ANIBA, Chelsea
Seisia Uncontested, Complete ELU, Joseph
St Pauls Counting Complete PAIWAN, John
TRAWQ Counting complete ABEDNEGO, John Stephen
Ugar Island Uncontested, Complete STEPHEN, Jerry Dixie
Warraber Island Counting Complete LUI, Willie

Contact information

Mr David Stuart, Returning Officer
Australian Electoral Commission
Floor 2, Commonwealth Centre
104 Grafton St, Cairns City

Telephone: 07 4051 7188
Fax: 07 3049 2181

Torres Strait Regional Authority
46 Victoria Parade, Thursday Island

Telephone: 07 4069 0700
Toll-free: 1800 079 093
Fax: 07 4069 1879,
Email: Governance&

Back to top