2024 Cook by-election

Polling places have now closed. Results will be published progressively in the AEC tally room.

There are 6 candidates who have been officially declared for the 2024 Cook by-election. A random draw for positions on the ballot paper was undertaken at a public event on Friday 22 March.

  1. KOLHATKAR, Vinay - Libertarian
  2. BROWN, Natasha - Animal Justice Party
  3. WOODWARD, Roger - Independent
  4. MOORE, Martin - The Greens
  5. KENNEDY, Simon - Liberal
  6. GAGATAM, Simone Francis - Sustainable Australia Party - Universal Basic Income

Issue of writ

Monday 11 March 

Close of rolls

8pm Monday 18 March

Close of nominations

Midday Thursday 21 March 

Declaration of nominations

Midday Friday 22 March 

Early voting starts

Tuesday 2 April

Postal vote applications close

6pm Wednesday 10 April

By-election day

Saturday 13 April

Return of writ

On or before Wednesday 19 June

Updated: 13 April 2024