Profile of the electoral division of Cooper (Vic)

Updated: 7 August 2020
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
13 July 2018
First election this name was used at:
2019 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Cooper (2018) [PDF 724KB]
Map of the Division of Cooper (2018) [PDF 3.07MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of William Cooper, 1861–1941. Cooper was a Yorta Yorta man who as a spokesman for Aboriginal people called for direct representation in parliament, enfranchisement, land rights and federal control of Aboriginal affairs.
60 sq km
Location description

The Division of Cooper consists of:

  • Darebin City Council,
  • part of the Moreland City Council, and
  • part of the Yarra City Council.
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Previous members:

The first member was elected at the 2019 federal general election.

Former members for any electoral division can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook.

AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.