2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Macquarie (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after Governor Lachlan Macquarie (1761–1824), Governor of New South Wales 1810–21.
4 374 sq km
Location Description:
Macquarie covers an area from the Hawkesbury and Nepean Rivers in the east, the City Councils of Blue Mountains and Hawkesbury border in the west. The Wollemi and Yengo National Parks form the northern border and the Coxs River, Lake Burragorang and Warragamba River form the southern border. Suburbs and towns include: Bilpin, Blackheath, Central Macdonald, Faulconbridge, Glenbrook, Katoomba, Lower Portland (part), Mellong, Mogo Creek, Mount Victoria, Mount Wilson, Richmond, Sackville (part), St. Albans and Windsor.
Products/industries of the area:
Tourism, mixed farming, arts and crafts, horse breeding and training, printing and publishing, small manufacturing, higher education with the Western Sydney University Richmond Campus. Macquarie is also home to the Glenbrook and Richmond RAAF bases.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Markus, L (LP) 2010–
  • Debus, R (ALP) 2007–2010
  • Bartlett, K (LP) 1996–2007
  • Deahm, M J (ALP) 1993–1996
  • Webster, A (LP) 1984–1993
  • Free, R V (ALP) 1980–1984
  • Gillard, R (LP) 1975–1980
  • Luchetti, A S (ALP) 1951–1975
  • Chifley, J B (ALP) 1940–1951
  • Lawson, J N (UAP) 1931–1940
  • Chifley, J B (ALP) 1928–1931
  • Manning, A G (NAT) 1922–1928
  • Nicholls, S R (ALP) 1917–1922
  • Carr, E S (ALP) 1906–1917
  • Smith, S (FT) 1901–1906
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: