2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Grayndler (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after Edward Grayndler (1867–1943), a Member of the New South Wales Legislative Council 1921–34 and 1936–43. He was also appointed General Secretary of the Australian Workers' Union in 1912.
32 sq km
Location Description:
Grayndler covers an area in the inner-southern Sydney metropolitan area. Bound by the Parramatta River in the north and the Sydenham Bankstown Railway line and the Goods Railway line in the south. To the east follows the Leichhardt Municipal Council boundary to Parramatta Road, along Kingston Road, Main Suburban Railway line and part of the Marrickville Council boundary. In the west follows Canterbury Road, Prospect Road, Liverpool Road, Frederick Street, Parramatta Road, Iron Cove Creek then along the western bank of Iron Cove. The main suburbs include Annandale, Balmain, Birchgrove, Canterbury (part), Dulwich Hill (part), Enmore, Haberfield, Hurlstone Park (part), Marickville (part), Rozelle, Stanmore, St. Peters, Summer Hill, Sydneham.
Products/industries of the area:
Manufacturing, engineering works, retail and service industries.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Albanese, A (ALP) 1996–
  • McHugh, J (ALP) 1993–1996
  • McLeay, L B (ALP) 1979–1993
  • Stewart, F E (ALP) 1977–1979
  • Whitlam, A P (ALP) 1975–1977
  • Daly, F M (ALP) 1949–1975
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: