2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Fowler (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after Lilian Fowler (1887–1954), first woman alderman in New South Wales 1929–48 and first woman mayor in Australia 1938–39, Member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly 1944–50.
60 sq km
Location Description:
Fowler covers an area from Chipping Norton, Lansvale and Fairfiled East in the east to Liverpool, Bonnyrigg (part), Edensor Park and Abbotsbury in the west. The southern boundary extends south along Newbridge Road, Georges River, the Western Motorway, Liverpool Street, Calabro Avenue and Park Road. The northern boundary follows Fairfield Street, Pine Road, Prospect Creek, Orphan School Creek, King Road, Polding Street, Mimosa Road, The Horsley Drive, Cowpasture Road and part of the western boundary of Abbotsbury. Suburbs include Abbotsbury, Bonnyrigg (part), Bossley Park (part), Cabramatta, Cabramatta West, Canley Heights, Canley Vale, Carramar, Chipping Norton, Edensor park (part), Fairfield East, Greenfield Park (part), Lansvale, Liverpool, Mount Pritchard, Prairiewood (part), Wakeley and Warwick Farm.
Products/industries of the area:
Light manufacturing, retail and service industries.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Hayes, C (ALP) 2010–
  • Irwin, J (ALP) 1998–2010
  • Grace, T (ALP) 1984–1998
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: