2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Throsby (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Throsby (2009) [PDF 254KB]
Map of the Division of Throsby (2009) [PDF 4.7MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after Dr Charles Throsby (1771–1828), a local pioneer who explored the area.
Area and Location Description:
Throsby covers an area of approximately 1 422 sq km and extends from Exeter, Lake Yarrunga and Upper Kangaroo Valley in the south to Aylmerton, Alpine, the Avon Dam, Lake Avon, Dombarton, and Kembla Grange in the north to the Pacific Ocean in the east at Port Kembla. The main localities include Albion Park, Berkeley, Berrima, Blackbutt, Bowral, Cringila, Dapto, Exeter, Fitzroy Falls, Horsley, Kembla Grange, Lake Illawarra, Mittagong, Moss Vale, Oak Flats, Port Kembla, Robertson, Warrawong, Welby, Willow Vale, and parts of Warilla.
Products/industries of the area:
Steel works, mining, engineering, light and heavy manufacturing, transport, tourism, construction, transport, dairy farming and retail industries.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Jones, S (ALP) 2010–
George, J (ALP) 2001–2010
Hollis, C (ALP) 1984–2001
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Throsby
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Throsby
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Throsby
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.