2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Newcastle (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Newcastle (2009) [PDF 124KB]
Map of the Division of Newcastle (2009) [PDF 2.3MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after the city of Newcastle which was named by Governor King in 1804.
Area and Location Description:
Newcastle covers an area of approximately 354 sq km from Williamtown, Heatherbrae and Thornton in the north, Lenaghan in the west to Kotara and Adamstown Heights in the south. The main suburbs include Adamstown, Birmingham Gardens, Broadmeadow, Carrington, Cooks Hill, Hamilton, Heatherbrae, Islington, Mayfield, Merewether, Newcastle, New Lambton, Sandgate, Shortland, Stockton, The Junction, Tighes Hill, Waratah, Wickham, Williamtown and parts of Adamstown Heights, Lambton, Jesmond, Kotara, Salt Ash, Thornton and Wallsend.
Products/industries of the area:
Ship-building and repairs, transport equipment, tourism, tertiary education, food-processing, railway goods, chemicals and heavy engineering. Newcastle is the second largest city in NSW and is a busy port, handling imports and exports.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Grierson, S (ALP) 2001–
Morris, A (ALP) 1983–2001
Jones, C K (ALP) 1958–1983
Watkins, D O (FLP/ALP) 1935–1958
Watkins, D (ALP/FLP) 1901–1935
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Newcastle
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Newcastle
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Newcastle
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.