2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Lyne (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Lyne (2009) [PDF 473KB]
Map of the Division of Lyne (2009) [PDF 11.0MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after Sir William Lyne (1844–1913), Premier of New South Wales 1899–1901.
Area and Location Description:
Lyne covers an area of approximately 11 991 sq km from Crescent Head in the north to the southern boundaries of Greater Taree City Council & Gloucester Council in the south and inland to the western boundaries of Greater Taree, Port Macquarie – Hastings and Kempsey Shire Councils. The main towns include Bonny Hills, Crescent Head, Gloucester, Harrington, Kendall, Lake Cathie, Laurieton, North Haven, Old Bar, Port Macquarie, Taree, Wauchope and Wingham.
Products/industries of the area:
Timber, beef/dairy cattle, mixed farming, fishing and oyster farming, boat building, engineering, mining and tourism.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Oakeshott, R (Ind) 2008 –
Vaile, M (NP) 1993–2008
Cowan, D B (NCP/NP) 1980–1993
Lucock, P E (CP/NCP) 1952–1980
Eggins, E J (CP) 1949–1952
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Lyne
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Lyne
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Lyne
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.