Commonwealth Electoral Division of Warringah (NSW)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Warringah AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located. Warringah's Indigenous name means 'sign of rain', 'across the waves' and 'sea'.

Size & location description:

Warringah covers an area of approximately 73 sq km from Neutral Bay, Mosman Bay and Clifton Gardens in the south to North Curl Curl and Frenchs Forest in the north, and to Middle Harbour in the west. The main suburbs include Allambie, Allambie Heights, Balgowlah, Balgowlah Heights, Balmoral, Beacon Hill, Beauty Point, Brookvale, Cremorne, Curl Curl, Fairlight, Forestville, Freshwater, Killarney Heights, Manly, Manly Vale, Mosman, Queenscliff, Seaforth and parts of Beacon Hill, Dee Why, Frenchs Forest and Narraweena.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Manufacturing; construction; retail; professional, scientific and technical services; health care and social assistance; service and leisure industries.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Abbott, T (LP) 1994–
  • MacKellar, M J R (LP) 1969–1994
  • St John, E H (LP) 1966–1969
  • Cockle, J S (LP) 1961–1966
  • Bland, F A (LP) 1951–1961
  • Spender, P C (UAP/LP) 1937–1951
  • Parkhill, R A (NAT/UAP) 1927–1937
  • Ryrie, G (NAT) 1922–1927

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.