Commonwealth Electoral Division of Paterson (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Paterson AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Andrew 'Banjo' Paterson (1864–1941), Australian author and poet. There is also conjecture that the division was first named in 1947 after Colonel William Paterson 1755–1810 after whom the town and river within the division were named.

Size & location description:

Paterson covers an area of approximately 6 652 sq km and extends from Raymond Terrace, Medowie and Anna Bay in the south to the southern boundary of Greater Taree local government area in the north and west to the Great Dividing Range. The main towns include Anna Bay, Bulahdelah, Clarence Town, Dungog, Forster, Hawks Nest, Lemon Tree Passage, Medowie, Morpeth, Nelson Bay, Paterson, Raymond Terrace, Stroud, Tuncurry and parts of Nabiac, Thornton and East Maitland.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Timber, beef and dairy cattle, mixed farming, maize, sawmilling, fishing and oyster farming, tourism and general engineering.

First proclaimed/election:

1947/1949 (Division was abolished in 1984 and re-established at the 1992 redistribution.)

Demographic rating:



  • Baldwin, B (LP) 2001–
  • Horne, R H (ALP) 1998–2001
  • Baldwin, R C (LP) 1996–1998
  • Horne, R H (ALP) 1993–1996
  • O'Keefe, F L (CP/NCP/NP) 1969–1984
  • Fairhall, A (LP) 1949–1969

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.