2001 Profile of the division of Tangney

Updated: 9 February 2011


Western Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Dame Dorothy Tangney (1911–1985), the first woman member of the Australian Senate (1943–1968).

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 70 sq km from the Swan and Canning Rivers to the north and east, with the proposed Roe Highway forming much of its southern boundary.

The main suburbs include Applecross, Alfred Cove, Ardross, Attadale, Bateman, Booragoon, Bull Creek, Ferndale, Langford, Leeming, Lynwood, Melville, Mount Pleasant, Murdoch, Myaree, Parkwood, Riverton, Rossmoyne, Willetton and Winthrop.

Products/Industries of the area:

Some light industry in Willetton and Myaree with standard suburban housing throughout the remainder. Murdoch University is located in the south-west of the division.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Daryl Williams (LP) 1993–
  • P D Shack (LP) 1984–93
  • G Gear (ALP) 1983–84
  • P D Shack (LP) 1977–83
  • P A Richardson (LP/IND) 1975–77
  • J S Dawkins (ALP) 1974–75

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses.

Demographic Rating

Inner Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 83 446

Informal Vote: 3.26%

Turnout: 95.05%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 44.10%
  • LP: 55.90%

Enrolment: 85 797

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.69%
  • Preamble Question 0.78%


  • Republic Question 95.83%
  • Preamble Question 95.84%

Enrolment: 82 972

Informal Vote: 4.04%

Turnout: 95.43%

Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 42.03%
  • LP: 57.97%