2001 Profile of the division of Pearce

Updated: 9 February 2011


Western Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir George Pearce (1870–1952), Western Australian Senator (1901–1938). He served as a Minister in Labor, National and United Australia Party Governments.

Area and Location Description:

The division consists of the eastern region of outer metropolitan Perth and surrounding rural areas.

It covers an area of approximately 26 251 sq km and includes the coastal area from Quinns Rocks to Lancelin; the country centres of Gingin, Bindoon and Toodyay in the north, Northam and Grass Valley in the east and York, Beverley, Brookton, Pingelly, Narrogin, Williams and Boddington to the south plus the eastern portion of the Darling Ranges and the Swan Valley.

Local government authorities in the division include the Shires of Beverley, Boddington, Brookton, Chittering, Cuballing, Gingin, Narrogin, Northam, Pingelly, Toodyay, Wandering, Williams and York; the Towns of Narrogin and Northam; the majority of Mundaring Shire and The City of Swan; part of the city of Wanneroo and the eastern portion of Kalamunda Shire.

Products/Industries of the area:

Fishing and tourism on the coast; grain crops, sheep, cattle, and fruit growing in the rural inland areas; restaurants, vineyards and wineries; RAAF pilot training at Pearce Air Base; Agricultural Colleges at Muresk and Narrogin and historic country tourist centres at Beverley, Toodyay and York

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Judi Moylan (LP) 1993–
  • F M Chaney (LP) 1990–93

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses.

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 81 260

Informal Vote: 3.64%

Turnout: 95.25%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 44.70%
  • LP: 55.30%

Enrolment: 84 031

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.83%
  • Preamble Question 0.86%


  • Republic Question 95.59%
  • Preamble Question 95.63%

Enrolment: 77 880

Informal Vote: 4.98%

Turnout: 94.97%

Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 43.12%
  • LP: 56.88%