2001 Profile of the division of Page

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Earle Page (1880–1961), Member of the House of Representatives (1919–1961). He served as caretaker Prime Minister of Australia during April 1939.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 16 682 sq km from Iluka in the south to Ballina in the north on the coastal side, and from Hernani in the south to the Queensland border on the inland side.

The main towns include Ballina, Casino, Grafton, Evans Head, Iluka Kyogle and Lismore.

Products/Industries of the area:

Dairy and beef cattle, pigs, maize, tropical fruit, sugar cane, fishing, prawning, oysters, butter and dairy factories, timber mills, several abattoirs and tourism.

First Proclaimed



  • Ian Causley (NP) 1996–
  • H F Woods (ALP) 1990–96
  • I L Robinson (NP) 1984–90

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 80 248

Informal Vote: 2.65%

Turnout: 95.99%

Seat Status: Marginal National

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 47.64%
  • NP: 52.36%

Enrolment: 81 079

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.75%
  • Preamble Question 0.74%


  • Republic Question 95.86%
  • Preamble Question 95.87%

Enrolment: 82 272

Informal Vote: 5.32%

Turnout: 95.71%

Seat Status: Fairly Safe Natinal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 47.23%
  • NP: 52.77%