2001 Profile of the division of McPherson

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the McPherson Range which forms the south-western boundary of the division. The range was named by Allan Cunningham after Major McPherson in 1828.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 369 sq km from the New South Wales border in the south to Broadbeach, and Mudgeeraba in the north, and west to Springbrook.

It takes in the major part of the tourist strip of the Gold Coast from Coolangatta on the New South Wales border through Currumbin, Palm Beach, Burleigh Heads, Miami to Broadbeach in the north. It also includes the hinterland areas of Mudgeeraba and Springbrook.

Products/Industries of the area:

Tourism and associated industries and a variety of small industries.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Margaret May (LP) 1998–
  • J Bradford (LP) 1990–98
  • P N D White (LP) 1981–90
  • E L Robinson (LP) 1972–81
  • C E Barnes (CP) 1958–72
  • A W Fadden (CP) 1949–58

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 82 104

Informal Vote: 4.20%

Turnout: 93.81%

Seat Status: Fairly safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 41.66%
  • LP: 58.34%

Enrolment: 86 326

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.66%
  • Preamble Question 0.77%


  • Republic Question 94.10%
  • Preamble Question 94.08%

Enrolment: 94 653

Informal Vote: 5.33%

Turnout: 94.27%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 37.45%
  • LP: 62.55%